LifeInTechnicolour · WeTheWomen

2015: When Women took centrestage #DailyChatter Day2

test

A couple of days back I wrote about Women Empowerment being the theme all over my twitter timeline. It wasnt just that day, the year 2015 has been an incredible year for women in popular media [ at least] .

I am not saying things have incredibly changed since 2015 began. Forget about achieving larger equality goals, we still have to bear the callous and often quite hilariously regressive views of men about our place in the entire scheme of things . Even the erstwhile epitome of sanskari bahu of indian television has conveniently turned a blind eye to the daily battles we fight being women in this country – what can we say? If you missed Smriti Irani’s much trolled ‘Women are not told..” quote uproar, read this article and thank me in the comments.

The battle to slowly escalate to the position closer to men would take us a couple of centuries . Even those smart men at UN have given up on that happening anytime soon.  In the meantime , the smaller victories that some of these fantastic women are fighting for us are worthwhile.

I feel women in popular media bear the responsibility of representing how women want to be treated, that’s why perhaps I react quite strongly to 14th century depiction of women in especially night-time television.

But something interesting happened in 2015 when it concerned women in limelight representing the movies and sports. I’ve been wanting to cover the #Bestof2015  in movies and advertisement in a post and I just might do that in a couple of days but today’s writing prompt in the #SocialSaturday under January Blogathon screamed for paying a tribute to women I admire. And I had to do that with a twist.

So here are 5 occasions when I felt time stood still for a split second last year and history was created because these women kicked some royal ass, pardon my sanskriti err Sanskrit folks.

Deepika admitting Depression :

I don’t remember any one on the top of their game ever admitting to and embracing a low point of their life , when it comes to women in entertainment industry. I mean those who aren’t doing too well , invent reasons to stay in news but here was this gorgeous women , leading a near perfect life , admitting she has seen the worst and going ahead & starting an organisation to support the cause. She has my vote for being a superwoman.

Deepika taking TOI head on:

Any one who reads TOI knows exactly the quality of content they dish out. It’s the closest to India TV in print I would say so printing sensational photos and articles is no news. What is news is some one telling them exactly what they are doing and sort of rubbing their face in it. That’s our girl . And what was laughable was that TOI claimed that it was for publicity. LOL right?

Pareeniti’s #BuiltThatWay campaign:

If you feel I am a Deepika – the lady , fan then you are right. But another girl who got my respect was Pareeniti . both ladies aren’t much of an actress but they do kick ass when it comes to what they stand for. Strong independent women. I wrote in the same post that I mentioned early on about Pareeniti.And all those haters , here’s my take – she aimed for fit not skinny. But you wouldn’t get that right?

Priyanka finding international acclaim in Quantico:

Agreed , they’ve sort of lost the plot and are running out of steam. Thankfully she’s got someone better as a stylist now. But Love the lady’s confidence! She’s the show stealer in a series that’s like really sub par . Holds her ground , looks hot and delivers her line super smooth . I don’t have a problem with her accent and you shouldn’t too – you aren’t the one whose rocking the world one day at a time.

Anushka Sharma . NH10 . Enough Said:

Deepika was the star that shone bright and Anushka was why I am proud of the movies in 2015. The lady was fierce and unstoppable in NH10 that’s as close to addressing a topical issue in recent times. Honour killing and Gender divide’s reality being rubbed in our face , Anushka the producer and yes , Anushka the leading lady – Go give them hell , girl!

So those were the women  who topped the charts for me last year. What’s your list like ? Share with me ?

***

This post is part of the January blogathon hosted by #kowthas and #dailychatter” and today’s prompt is “Pick a lady you like , write about her” linked here.

 

 

2 thoughts on “2015: When Women took centrestage #DailyChatter Day2

  1. Agree with your choice of beauty with brains championing good causes. As the Sanskrit saying goes….Yatra nariasthu pujayanthe, tatra devataha ramanethe! Meaning: the land where women are revered, it is there that Gods abound. I’ll have to ponder on my choice of women I admired in the last year….

  2. Agree with your choice of beauty with brains championing good causes. As the Sanskrit saying goes….Yatra nariasthu pujayanthe, tatra devataha ramanethe! Meaning: the land where women are revered, it is there that Gods abound. I’ll have to ponder on my choice of women I admired in the last year….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge